FOR SALE: Horse Urine $1,000,000,000/yr Potential Income. Premarin Cures Crankiness!

Standard

Horse Toture

Every so often I find out about something that is so outrageous and disgusting, I have to stop everything I’m doing to blog about it. The use of beaver anal sac excretions in my morning cereal was one of these things and the added carrageenan in my almond milk was another, but these dull by comparison to what I found out about the drug Premarin.

I get it, menopause is probably uncomfortable for women and makes them cranky and unable to sleep at night but any amount of discomfort cannot compare to the practice of impregnating horses, limiting their water intake and movement, collecting their urine for use in the drug, and then killing their offspring. Or, in some cases, the “lucky” ones get to live so they can lead the same enslaved life as their mother.

If you are currently taking Premarin, please stop reading this blog post. You are not welcome here.

Any form of animal abuse is bad and I am oftentimes criticized for singling out what abuse I think is “worse” than other abuse (the fact that it is legal to eat your own cat or dog in 43 U.S. states disgusts me but, technically, it is no worse than the millions and millions of animals mistreated and killed for food around the world). What gets me about Permarin, is that there are options that do not involve animal secretions or animal testing and, in fact, there are options that involve changing your diet.

In fact, nearly all symptoms of menopause can be controlled by going vegan. A high intake of phytoestrogens is thought to explain why hot flashes and other menopausal symptoms rarely occur in populations consuming a predominantly plant-based diet. Increased intake of phytoestrogens by consuming more: soy milk, linseed, tofu, tempeh and miso, pumpkins seeds, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, celery, rhubarb and green beans will help with menopause.

I know, I know … going vegan is drastic whereas having someone else rape and enslave a beautiful mare to collect her urine while she is pregnant and, subsequently, killing her useless offspring isn’t.

I’ve said it once before and I will say it again: Pfuck Pfizer.

Go vegan.

ThankTankBannerAd

5 thoughts on “FOR SALE: Horse Urine $1,000,000,000/yr Potential Income. Premarin Cures Crankiness!

  1. Cowgirls & Collard Greens

    Yup, I have known about this drug for years. But why does a pre-menopausal woman like me know about Premarin? For one, my own mother, following her hysterectomy, used to take it. For years. And years. Secondly, I became aware of the drug and all the abuse behind it because I am a horse lover. A friend of mine who is also a horsewoman, has rescued and re-homed dozens of these horses (most often they are draft horses) who would normally be killed (most often males because they are useless because they can’t be impregnated). Check out the United Pegasus Foundation as they help re-home the unwanted babies and give them a life they otherwise wouldn’t have.

    Like

  2. Kayle,

    Thanks for commenting. I cannot imagine how this all looks to you since you’re the vegan cowgirl. I love horses because they look pretty and stuff … but you actually LOVE horses … like, in person.

    Thanks again and thank you for all you do for the animals.

    ~ MV

    Like

  3. Him. Story sounds similar to another animal, another product, only I’m guessing it’s a multi-cazillion $ industry. I’m talking about dairy, of course.

    The more I learn about the Rx industry in general makes me cringe. Buyers beware. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. I’m usually pretty sensitive about men commenting on women’s health issues. That being said, I completely agree with you. And really, this is not a women’s health issue at all, but an animal rights issue, because any being’s right to freedom and livelihood trumps any other being’s right to menopause treatment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

