My Name is Eric and I’m a Omnivoraholic. Confessions of a Recovering Omnivore

Standard

IMG_2814

“My Name is Eric and I’m a Omnivoraholic,” I lamented in front of a room full of total strangers.

“Hi, Eric.” The reply in unison was ominous but what did I expect from a group of vegans who now consider themselves “recovering omnivores.” We were all once meateaters, milk drinkers, and egg scramblers.

“It has been just over two years since I last ate meat.” Knowing me, it was probably chicken wings. Or possibly a pepperoni pizza. Or steak. Just thinking about it now makes me harken back to those “good old days” when I could eat whatever I wanted. Meat, cheese, eggs … sometimes all three of these appeared in one breakfast and later that day in my lunch. And dinner.

I knew I had a problem when I saw wing sauce drippings on my bed sheets and I had a half-eaten baloney sandwich in my back pocket dripping mayonnaise into my shoes.

I had hit rock bottom.

And that’s when I found Omnivores Anonymous (OA) and I learned about the 12-step program for quitting meat, dairy, and eggs for life. We learned we were powerless over meat, dairy, and eggs. But mostly cheese.

We came to believe that a power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity. His name is T. Colin Campbell.

We made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to fruits and vegetables and embrace a plant-based diet.

We cleared our closets of wool, silk, and leather even though we loved our Limited Edition Tommy Bahamas Pool Ball shirt and meanwhile, we cleared our arteries of gunk and goo and fat and poo.

We all had a spiritual awakening as the result of these steps, we try to carry this message to other omnivores, and to practice these principles in all our affairs. We knew it was in us to grab a hold of our own destiny, to clear a path to better overall health.

But, most importantly, we knew it had to be done … for the animals.

We had all made a commitment and you, too, can make the commitment to …

Go vegan.

2 thoughts on “My Name is Eric and I’m a Omnivoraholic. Confessions of a Recovering Omnivore

Leave a Reply

