A Taste of a Lower East Side Bakery in Ithaca: Bringing Babycakes Home

Standard

The advantages of living in Ithaca are that you can enjoy the lake, the gorges, the wineries, the hippies, the downtown Commons and still be exactly four hours from New York City. Perhaps the greatest city in the world for vegans.

Growing up, I used to go to the city at least once a month with my high school art class (I lived in Binghamton at the time, so it was only three hours). Of course, once we got there we would immediately head downtown to Soho and walk the streets in the rain (visiting all the hip record stores and art galleries and smoke cigarettes and wear scarves). At that time I wasn’t vegan and, at that time, Babycakes didn’t exist.

Today, we make it to NYC whenever possible and whenever we go … we stop at Babycakes. The only vegan, gluten-free, nut-free, soy-free (mostly sugar free) bakery that matters. It’s as much a destination as the Empire State Building and the Statue of Liberty. It is a requirement. Last time I was in NYC, I spent almost two hours at Babycakes drinking coffee (they serve Stumptown but should serve Gimme!) and ordered donuts and cupcakes until I couldn’t move. The bakery is tiny, so that once you own that little corner by the window … never leave.

IMG_5072

This past week I was delighted to find in my mail a sweet package from Babycakes that included the Vanilla Cupcake (or cake) Mix and the Chocolate Chip Cookie Mix. Of course, I couldn’t wait to start baking.

IMG_5136

We own both of the Babycakes cookbooks and Erin McKenna’s recipes are pretty intense. To cook really good gluten-free and vegan pastries and desserts takes some effort but I was delighted to find out that the Vanilla Cupcake Mix was a breeze.

IMG_5141

Had to add some oil, agave nectar (for sweetness) and apple sauce (as a binder), a little vanilla and water and whisked it into a smooth batter in no time. A batter so good, I licked the whisk afterwards.

IMG_5148

The box made exactly 12 cupcakes and they turned out perfect … delicious. The next day, Jen whipped up a batch of her famous frosting (BTW, at the bakery they sell shots of frosting for $1.50) and we topped each one and transformed them into the delectable cupcakes we can usually only get in New York City. Arguably, the birthplace of the cupcake.

IMG_5126Jen has been a lifelong follower of Babycakes (since she has been gluten-free for 11 years). In fact, one of our cookbooks is signed by Erin McKenna to Jen.

As luck would have it, we already have a trip planned for February to the city and you can bet that Babycakes is on our must-do list (as is MooShoes which, as if it were planned, is right around the corner).

New York City … the best place to …

Go vegan.

Not near New York? Babycakes also has locations in Los Angeles and Orlando. Get there … or order some for home!

NEXT UP: Gluten-free/vegan chocolate chip cookies … only from Babycakes!

8 thoughts on “A Taste of a Lower East Side Bakery in Ithaca: Bringing Babycakes Home

  1. I think the boxed cupcakes, cookies etc… Turn out better than when I had made them from the book. Obviously not as good as fresh from the bakery, but still pretty awesome. I try and go when I’m in town too, last time Erin herself served me. In all the times I’ve been there I’ve only seen her that once! Had a total fan girl moment.

    Like

  2. perrilove

    Their GF (and of course, vegan) chocolate chip cookie recipe is not only the easiest cc cookie recipe I’ve ever made, but by far the most delicious (and I’m including all cc cookies I’ve EVER had). Everyone I know that has tried them has loved them. Thanks Eric…now I’m craving cc cookies πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

