How Would Butch Cassidy and Sundance Get Away Without Horses?

Standard

butch-cassidy-and-the-sundance-kid-deep-focus1

One of my all-time favorite films is “Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid.” I have loved it ever since I was a kid and the only other movie that toggles for the top position of my favorite movie of all time is “Raiders of the Lost Ark.” Both films rely heavily on animal actors. Whether it’s horses, monkeys, or snakes. “Why did it have to be snakes?”

Also in my top ten favorite list is the Terry Gilliam masterpiece “Twelve Monkeys,” which also makes obvious use of animal actors. It seems as though, other than “Harold and Maude,” most movies I love feature roles for animals.

What does an ethical vegan do when it comes to animals in the entertainment business?

My path toward being a full-on ethical vegan started as a dietary challenge and, some 18-months later, I finally made the “connection.” In a million years I will never again eat meat. I look at any meat and all I see is the animal that was tortured and murdered. Set aside how unhealthy meat, dairy, and eggs are … animals should not have to endure the path toward death to feed humans.

But what about animals in movies? I can say, without a doubt, that zoos, circuses and SeaWorld (and the like) are obvious to me. I won’t support any of these as I can clearly tell when animals are being abused or caged against their will. They deserve to be free and in their natural environment.

But what about animals in movies?

I have mixed feelings and don’t know what to say or how to feel. Maybe I am being ignorant in thinking that these talented animals are being well-fed and well-treated. And that, somehow, they “enjoy” being in the entertainment industry? I know … I am kidding myself.

Was that Jack Russell terrier on Frasier beaten and caged between takes or was he as happy as he appeared on screen?

What does an ethical vegan do? Never see a movie that features animals in supporting or leading roles? Black list every western ever made or to be made? Not see the Coen Brothers’ new movie “Inside Llewyn Davis” because the supporting actor role is played by a cat?

Ethical vegans, please help … what do you do?

Go vegan.

3 thoughts on “How Would Butch Cassidy and Sundance Get Away Without Horses?

  1. This is definitely something I have not thought of. Seems obvious and confusing now, though. I don’t watch many movies because I just can’t sit that long, but I will probably now notice every animal in every show I watch now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

