Go Vegan. For Your Health, for the Environment, for the Animals, but Mostly for Me.

Standard

Eric C Lindstrom

Two years ago, January 4th, I was a chicken-wing-consuming-steak-grilling-poached-egg-eating-milkshake-drinking omnivore. Two years ago, January 5th, I became a vegan. It wasn’t easy. In fact, it was downright torture at times but I persevered. Reflecting back on this New Year’s Eve, I can honestly say it was the best decision of my life.

For my health, for the environment, for the animals, but mostly for me.

In the process I became more aware of the health benefits of a plant-based diet. I also educated myself about the horrors of animal farming (factory, or otherwise). I made a new set of lifelong, like-minded friends. I started this blog that is followed by thousands (and has helped at least five people either go vegan or think about going vegan). I learned how to plan, prepare and plate tasty vegan cuisine (so much so, that I recently had a screen test for the Food Network to appear on one of their shows). But, most of all, I learning about me. About who I really am and what is important to me. About being healthy, alive and vibrant for Jen. About maintaining a healthy lifestyle for our 10-month-old. Being vegan has benefits that go way beyond ever having to eat meat, dairy, or eggs again.

Now, on the eve of a new year I am asking everyone who reads this blog who IS vegan, to please share the link and I’m asking those of you who are vegetarian or omnivores to try to do as I did and go vegan. For one month. Wake up tomorrow morning committed to living more compassionately and thinking about what you are eating and go vegan. For one month. Take control of your weight, your health, your heart, and go vegan. For one month.

Dedicate January as the thirty days for taking a break from meat, dairy, and eggs. Prepare meals loaded with fruits, vegetable, and whole grains. Buy organic and non-GMO whenever possible. Challenge yourself with delicious and nutritious recipes that rethink what you thought about eating well (my favorite right now is One Green Planet).

So on the edge of a new year, I ask you to stop for a moment and consider it. For your health, for the environment, for the animals, but mostly for me. Because, I care about you.

Go vegan.

7 thoughts on “Go Vegan. For Your Health, for the Environment, for the Animals, but Mostly for Me.

  1. perrilove

    Hard to believe it was just 2 years ago that we were having the conversation at my kitchen table about you going vegan for just one month and how you were possibly going to survive. Now look at you!!! Unbelievable transformation, my friend 🙂

    Like

  2. I, too, went vegan in January 2014 after years of vegetarian/pescetarianism. A few months ago, the New Yorker ran an article calling 2014 the Year of the Vegan. It looks like their prediction is coming true. Not a moment too soon, given the devastating effect our taste for animal products is having on the environment.

    Keep spreading the word that veganism is healthy, satisfying, and enjoyable!

    Like

Leave a Reply

