Herb-Crusted Vegan Gluten-free Crab Cakes: Annapolis Style

Standard

HerbCrustedCrabCakes

Annapolis, Maryland has long been one of my favorite cities in the U.S. The rich history, the sailing, the architecture, the Naval Academy and … the crab cakes. On one visit, years ago, I ate crab cakes at literally every restaurant that served them. I took diligent notes on what I thought made a crab cake delicious and came home and reverse engineered these notes and created my own award-winning Herb-Crusted Crab Cake. A recipe so good, it was recognized by Bon Appétit Magazine.

Alas, today I am vegan and crab cakes are off limits. Until now.

I was shopping at our local co-op when I noticed in the freezer section a line of vegan seafood from Sophie’s Kitchen. I have to admit I was a little leery at first but decided to try the vegan crab cakes. Maybe I was, once again, going to be able to enjoy one of my favorite, long-lost, foods. And, I am very pleased to report … I can.

When lightly fried, these vegan crab cakes turn out crunchy on the outside and moist on the inside and they taste very much like crab. With this particular dish (shown) I coated the cakes in chopped herbs (parsley and cilantro) and lightly fried them in sesame oil. Meanwhile, I whipped up a batch of spicy baked sweet potato fries (tossed in sesame oil, garlic powder, paprika and sea salt and baked at 450° for 30 minutes) and treated both the main entree and the side to chipotle dipping sauce. It. Was. Amazing.

The edges of the crab cakes were crispy and the herbs added a nice freshness to the dish. The dipping sauce goes so well with the cakes and the fries that I had to go back for more. I can confidently say that you could serve this dish to any omnivore and they will find it hearty, spicy, decadent, and delicious. And so easy to prepare and plate.

I am anxious to try the other vegan seafood products from Sophie’s Kitchen and encourage you to do the same. You can find them on Facebook here.

Go Vegan.

.

3 thoughts on “Herb-Crusted Vegan Gluten-free Crab Cakes: Annapolis Style

  1. Been curious about that frozen vegan seafood stuff. Was never much of a seafood eater pre-vegan, but as with many other foods, I’ve been eager to try vegan versions that I never ate as a carnivore! Thanks for the review 🙂 Maybe next time it’s on sale, we will give it a shot.

    Like

  2. Stephanie Ortolano

    I’ve had a lot of successful seafood recipe vegan-makeovers using dried oyster mushrooms. Both the rehydrated mushrooms and the broth for the rehydrating are great for making things like white or red clam sauce for pasta… I get mine at Ithaca Tofu.

    Like

Leave a Reply

