How Not to Starve to Death as a Vegan (and Get More Protein in the Process)

Standard

Image

If you scroll back through all my blog posts since launching MeatyVegan.com, you’ll find a pattern evolving. I have gone from the Reluctant Vegan (of which I still own a very handsome t-shirt Jen bought me with that blazoned across the front) to full-fledged compassionate, ethical, out-of-the-cupboard vegan. A man who constantly complained about there being nothing to eat, is now eating more than ever before. I can still recall the early days of veganism and going on and on about there being no selection of foods for vegans … at gas stations (while on the road) and vending machines (trying to get a quick snack). I now fully realize how ridiculous that was.

Imagine that. I can no longer enjoy a greasy breakfast sandwich that has been in a warmer for eight hours nor can I consume an 800-calorie chocolate bar.

Back then, I didn’t see the ignorance in this.

Today, I am not only thriving with amazing food every day, I am cooking up a storm all week long (and mostly on the weekends), trying out new recipes and creating foods that rival any omnivores best day. Not only are these meals tasty and filling, they are packed with vitamins, minerals, and protein … yes, protein. In fact, most of the meals I make are loaded with more protein than any person would need for a year.

Since making this life-changing, lane-changing, game-changing shift in thinking, some of my more popular dishes include:

  • Pizza. Gluten-free and vegan and every bit as good as a meat and dairy cheese pizza (the one here is pictured with soy chorizo).
  • Soy chorizo. I originally discovered the one at Trader Joe’s but have since made my own homemade version (using TVP) and it’s pretty amazing. Spicy and delicious!
  • Macaroni and cheese. Some soy milk and dairy-free cheese. A little nutritional yeast. Melted and poured over gluten-free elbows. You can broil it at the end to get that crispy top.
  • Chocolate chunk cookies. Jen’s recipe. These are so bad to have around the house because they are so good. Recipe on my recipe link.
  • Burritos and tacos. Pretty much all variations of Mexican cuisine translates beautifully to vegan.
  • Kimchi. I make a spicy vegan version of this Korean side dish that is so good for you that you can eat an entire jar in one sitting (it’s known to happen).
  • Lasagna. Red or white, this layered pasta dish is the perfect addition to any potluck and it’ll go fast.
  • Gluten free vegan bread. Took me 9 tries to get my recipe right but I got it right. Straight from the oven, this is one tasty, steamy loaf!
  • Broccoli quiche. Perfect for any brunch. Completely egg and dairy free.
  • Fettuccine Alfredo. There is so much you can do with cashews and this Alfredo sauce rivals any out there. Cashews also make wonderful cream/s.
  • Sweet Potato Fries. Toss in sesame oil, garlic powder, and paprika. Bake at 400° for 30 minutes (flip once midway) and serve with chipotle Veganaisse dipping sauce. Shut the front door.
  • Pão de Queijo. Simple and gluten-free Brazilian cheese bread, or Pão de Queijo, made with tapioca flour and dairy-free cheese. Seriously, kids will kill each other for this. Brings new meaning to “Hunger Games.”
  • Bacon. That’s right. Bacon is no longer a cut of meat, it’s now designated a flavor. So, with that, making bacon out of shiitake mushrooms is allowed and are great on baked potatoes with sour cream.
  • Chicken wings. With a product like Beyond Meat available, this dish is a no-brainer. Serve with your favorite wing sauce and celery and you can enjoy this while your pet chicken watches.
  • Salads. Yes I eat salads, too. Probably not as many as I should but I also cut myself some slack here … since eating all these other foods is so much fun!

So, for those of you who wonder what vegans eat or think that we only eat salads? Think again. And think about going vegan … and …

Go vegan.

7 thoughts on “How Not to Starve to Death as a Vegan (and Get More Protein in the Process)

  1. I haven’t had a regular Italian slice of pizza in a long time and that’s because I don’t eat dairy anymore. Looking at this pizza is making my mouth water. I shop at Traders sometimes. I will definitely check out their frozen pizza section the next time. I might find a vegan pie I might try.

    Like

  2. perrilove

    I like Daiya and FYH much better than TJ’s vegan cheese and if you’re not gluten free, TJ’s also has really good ready-to-bake pizza dough (I happen to really like the whole wheat one). And if you can find it, Upton’s makes awesome seitan (also not GF), the Italian and chorizo crumbles are super yummy especially on pizza!

    Like

Leave a Reply

