Happy “Hug a Vegan” Day 2013

Standard

Yes, today’s “Hug a Vegan” Day, according to PETA. Somehow I have overlooked, or was overlooked on this most important day last year. For some reason when I hear the name of this event I think about Ziggy, that overly optimistic, pukey-adorable, Go-loving cartoon character.

According to PETA, “Hug a Vegan” Day is their annual celebration of living cruelty-free and to prove this there is an actual form on their website for you to pledge a hug and, well … populate the PETA database.

Since I am vegan and Jen is vegan, I get to hug a vegan and be the vegan doing the hugging everyday without providing PETA my email address. I suppose the form exists for people who are alone in their veganism, or closet vegans, and cannot hug another vegan in person? I feel sorry for those people. I’d like to hug them.

Apparently there is also a “Hug a Vegetarian” Day but you know my feelings on vegetarians. I think when you do hug a vegetarian, there should be a prerequisite that you also have to whisper in their ear: “why in the hell can’t you give up cheese and eggs?”

There is an official “Hug a Vegan” t-shirt you can purchase to further encourage all this vegan hugging that’s going to take place. It’s on sale for $12.00. Or, two for $24.

Personally, if some random person approaches me today and hugs me because I’m vegan … I’m going to feel pretty uncomfortable. Not a big hugger.

However, if you’re vegan or personally know a vegan — by all means, go ahead and hug. It can’t hurt (unless you hug too hard).

Go vegan. Boycott Barilla.

3 thoughts on “Happy “Hug a Vegan” Day 2013

Leave a Reply

