Ethical Vegetarians are like Bigfoot. They Don’t Exist

Standard

Before going vegan I really only knew vegetarians, most of which were pescatarians. Now that I’m vegan, I see the hypocrisy.

Most vegetarians cite ethics as their reason for not eating meat. “I am an ethical vegetarian,” they’d boast, eating a cheese omelette washed down with coffee loaded with cream. Or lox with bagel smothered in cream cheese. “I’m a vegetarian but I still eat fish sometimes.” Then they’d go on to talk about how they can’t eat meat knowing what happens to the animals.

What these ethical vegetarians don’t realize, or choose to ignore, is that by eating dairy (including all cheeses) and eggs, they are supporting animal abuse as much as if they were chomping down on bacon wrapped tenderloin.

There is no such thing as an ethical vegetarian.

I think somehow they think that free-range, grass fed, or cage-free means that it’s okay to borrow some milk from a cow or eggs from a chicken. That somehow these animals are treated that much better than their farm-factoried counterparts, that it’s okay to eat dairy and eggs taken from these animals. But in both industries, no matter how “harmless” it all seems — animals are being abused. Just by the sheer nature of humans consuming their milk and eggs, it’s abuse.

For (graphic) example. To get a cow to lactate, that cow has to be pregnant. Constantly pregnant in order for any significant amount of milk to be produced. To have a constantly pregnant cow, they have to be hand-raped by a farmer. That’s right. Legalized rape of another species. This applies to any farm that provides milk even farms that provide raw milk; as if that’s somehow less torturous on the beast. This changes nothing. The fact is, these cows are in a constant state of pregnancy or childbirth in order to be lactating (same is true with any animal that is milked for humans). This is only the first step in how cows are abused.

Once the cow gives birth, their calf is immediately taken from them to ensure that the any milk that can be had is extracted by the farmer and not the newborn. That’s the second step. If the newborn is a male, he is locked in a plastic box just long enough to become just old enough to be slaughtered as veal (anywhere from 1-3 months). Third step. Female calves? They are raised long enough to be hand-raped to start this cycle again. That’s the fourth step in the abuse … there’s one more.

When the cow no longer can get pregnant or stops lactating, she is killed. In all of this, it makes no difference whatsoever how “happy” the cow is along this cycle, it is still being abused and this is still taking place.

Got milk?

This cycle continues endlessly so an “ethical vegetarian” can enjoy butter, yogurt, ice cream, and milk. Doesn’t seem very ethical to me, especially when there are hundreds of milk and dairy substitutes on the market.

Chicken abuse is just as horrific. Not the least of which is the hundreds of millions of male chicks that are hatched only to be ground up alive, since egg farms have no use for males. Ground. Up. Alive. Combine this with the fact that you’re consuming a chicken’s period … how’s that fried egg tasting now?

Finally, most every “ethical vegetarian” I know continues to support industry that contributes to animal cruelty and continues to wear leather goods and other clothing items that are derived from animals. In other words, these so-called “ethical vegetarians” are simply people who have made a dietary decision to not eat meat.

There is no such thing as an “ethical vegetarian” — go vegan.

10 thoughts on “Ethical Vegetarians are like Bigfoot. They Don’t Exist

  1. Had a debate some weeks ago, and it kind of boiled down to this – It’s ironic that I have more respect for a meat eater that hunts their own food rather than a vegan who has absolutely no issues with the consuming of palm oil and its practices, or using a smartphone or computer that has been pieced together in countries that exploit child-labour. The way I see it is this; in every life-style choice, there are ethical imbalances. There is not one area of life where people can live free from contradictions. While I see certain merits in vegan observations, it is indeed not without flaw. There is an opportunity to educate people on what are indeed valid points. But to belittle people in society just further deepens the divide between related parties. Education really is key in all this. Some further notes; I am pretty much a strict Lacto veg. No eggs or albumen passes my mouth. No animals form part of my clothing. I tolerate soy products, but the side effects often have me cramped up for days. The ethical argument is a large one. Going back to palm oil there are large areas of our planet devoted to its growth, and some of the farming/extraction methods are way beyond ethical. For an interesting piece of video, also look up the political comedian Mark Thomas when he investigated the practices of coca cola. The company they use for sugar exploits child labour on an unprecedented scale

    Like

  2. Michael,

    Thank you for your thoughtful comments and for stopping by my blog. If you poked around at other entries you’ll soon learn that my tone is pretty heavy-handed (without actually posting photos of chickens getting their heads cut off or pigs being skinned alive). I want to try to communicate my thoughts in an entertaining enough manner that I get people’s attention and make them think.

    Not the least of which is that I stand very steadfast on the fact that if you eat meat, cheese, dairy or eggs … you’re NOT vegan. And you cannot be Vegan Before 6. You either are vegan (like I have been for 19 or so months) or you’re not. Clearly, I’ve eaten bugs on lettuce and I’m shielding myself from the fact that my electronics are made under horrible human conditions. I am vegan. 100%. People who eat meat, aren’t.

    I’ve had people argue otherwise (which I think is ridiculous).

    With this particular post I was attempting to point out another bit of hypocrisy that exists and that is the “ethical vegetarian” who supports the dairy and egg industries. The heinous cruelty associated with milk and eggs is horrifying, yet ethical vegetarians say they are vegetarians because of the way animals are treated.

    I don’t think so.

    If you’re that far along, for god’s sake, give up cheese and eggs and do it right! As if either of these foods are the LEAST bit good for you! You can’t have it both ways!

    Like

  3. In my opinion, if there is no such thing as an ethical vegetarian, then there is no such thing as an ethical vegan. One can hold various levels of ethical stances, but to avoid all ethical conflicts, we must simply banish all material goods and return to the caves, and put ourselves in a situation where we no longer give ourselves a ‘choice’, but put ourselves in a state of survival, therefore, by natural selection we as a species no longer over-consume natural resources, reduce our numbers, ergo balance restored. But you know, and I know the world will not roll that way. Apart from bacteria, we are top of the food chain, and the best each of us can do is to follow our own best ethical codes of conducts. I would not expect people living in remote parts of Alaska to adopt a vegan lifestyle where land is unsuitable for crops, and where importing goods can be a challenge at times.

    Again, I don’t eat eggs. I don’t wear animals. I source milk and cheese that’s organically produced and where I believe animals have freedom to roam. My decision not to go 100% is ironically one of a health issue because soy, to a lot of humans is actually bad for the body. Not all bodies can consume the same way. Soya/bean curd etc, as much as I consume it, it can at times leave me feeling very ill. After two decades of being a lacto veg, I have learned to listen to what my body needs.

    Like

  4. Google… where all the truth lives…

    Yeah, almond milk… by Alpro. Totally vegan. Just laughing at the fact that I’m banging on about the veggie/vegan thing, yet at the same time drinking a vegan drink.

    Like

Leave a Reply

